Communicator of the Year

    Call for Nominations

    PRSA Memphis is accepting nominations for the 2019 Communicator of the Year Award, which will be presented during the January 2020 luncheon.

    The award honors a MidSouth professional who has gained public awareness or participation for an event or effort benefiting either the city of Memphis or a local civic or philanthropic organization. It can be awarded for a campaign that spans during the course of one year or for a longer period of time.

    Nominees do not have to be a public relations practitioner. Judges will consider the amount of difficulty encountered to achieve the goal, as well as the number of people who benefited from the effort.

    Submissions should be no longer than 450 words. Nominations should be emailed to Peggy Reisser at [email protected] with “COY nomination” in the subject line. Deadline for submission is 5 p.m., Thursday, September 26, 2019.

    The award was established in 1976 with Bud Dudley, founder of the Liberty Bowl, its first recipient. The list of honorees includes, Ron Terry, Cecil Humphreys, Fred P. Gattas, Olin Morris, D’Army Bailey, Judith Drescher, Fred Jones, Gerry House, Dr. Scott Morris, Arnold Perl, Linn Sitler, John Calipari, Beverly Robertson, Bob Loeb, Toney Armstrong, and last year Otis Sanford.